14 former Baylor regents criticize sitting board

More than a dozen former Baylor University regents penned an open letter to the sitting board raising concerns with how it has handled the school’s sexual assault scandal.

The letter focuses on concerns with an investigation into institutional responses to sexual violence, specific recommendations for board improvements and a warning label from the school’s accrediting agency.


The 14 former regents released the letter through a press release from Bears for Leadership Reform, a group of prominent donors and alumni that has regularly criticized regents since it formed in November.


The letter is signed by Mary Chavanne Holmgren, Randy Ferguson, Randy Fields, Gale Galloway, Gracie Hilton, David McCall, Drayton McLane, Jaclanel McFarland, Laree Perez, Ella Pritchard, John Starky, Emily Tinsley, Hal Wingo and John Wood.


Ferguson, Galloway, McLane and Tinsley are board members of Bears for Leadership Reform.



Read more